Date Description
Tuesday, May 31, 2016 New Data Loaded, 31 May 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016 Update from U.N. BBNJ PrepCom
Wednesday, January 20, 2016 New data loaded, 20 January 2016
Tuesday, October 27, 2015 CAFF joins OBIS as its Arctic node
Thursday, October 15, 2015 New data loaded, 16 October 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015 Call for applications: OBIS Training Course
Friday, August 21, 2015 New data loaded, 21 August 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015 4th OBIS Steering Group report published
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 Oceans Past Initiative joins OBIS
Monday, May 11, 2015 New OBIS data manager: Mr Pieter Provoost
OBIS is a project of:
IOC-UNESCO
IODE Sponsored by:
Martin International and Les Grands Explorateurs
With in-kind support from:
Marine Geospatial Ecology Lab, Duke University
Universidad Simón Bolívar Flanders Marine Institute

OBIS strives to document the ocean's diversity, distribution and abundance of life. Created by the Census of Marine Life, OBIS is now part of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO, under its International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) programme.