Date Description
Thursday, May 23, 2013 Mike Flavell joins UNESCO-IOC as data manager for OBIS
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 Report 2nd Session of the IODE Steering Group for OBIS
Thursday, January 31, 2013 John "Fred" Grassle, godfather of OBIS, was rewarded the Japan Prize
Friday, January 18, 2013 Position Paper: OBIS and IPBES
Wednesday, January 9, 2013 New data loaded, 9 January 2013
Thursday, August 30, 2012 OBIS 2nd technical meeting report available
Friday, May 11, 2012 New data loaded, 11 May 2012
Tuesday, January 24, 2012 New data load, January 2012
Saturday, October 15, 2011 OBIS at WCMB
Friday, September 2, 2011 New data load, 2011-09-02
OBIS is a project of:
IOC-UNESCO
IODE Sponsored by:
Martin International and Les Grands Explorateurs
With in-kind support from:
Marine Geospatial Ecology Lab, Duke University
Universidad Simón Bolívar Flanders Marine Institute

OBIS strives to document the ocean's diversity, distribution and abundance of life. Created by the Census of Marine Life, OBIS is now part of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO, under its International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) programme.